Headphones and Quill

Three Fandom Podcasts to Try

I love podcasts.  It’s a new thing for me; I became interested in them well after they became popular. It took a long time to get past the fact that, no, this isn’t like some of the boring talk-radio shows I was stuck listening to on the radio years ago. Podcasts are interesting and engaging; each one I listen to opens me up to some new ideas and concepts. The way I know a podcast will end up being a regular one for me is I find myself talking and/or arguing with the hosts while driving down the highway. (They can’t hear me, but that doesn’t stop me!)

In no particular order, here are a few of my favorites that have a fandom and/or Harry Potter focus to them:

1. Mugglenet Academia. Anyone that has been in the Harry Potter fandom for awhile has at least some passing knowledge of Mugglenet, a HP fansite. Over the years, they have rolled out a few different Harry Potter-themed podcasts.
What is it about: Academic discussions of Harry Potter fandom with experts in fields related to the discussion of the day.
Why you should give it a listen: Get a chance to listen very in-depth and educational conversations about the Harry Potter series
Favorite episode: Parseltongue, Gobbledegook, and Troll: Translating Harry Potter, an episode that discusses what goes into creating translations of the Harry Potter series.

2. Fansplaining: This is an interesting fandom podcast that came onto my radar a few months ago when the Harry Potter Alliance‘s Communications Director Jackson Bird was on the podcast. It actually might be my favorite podcast right now across all subjects.
What is it about: This is a general fandom podcast, so the possibilities are endless! The hosts are huge Harry Potter fans though, so HP is included in a number of conversations. Topics tend to be broad (Fanfiction! Copyright Law! Social Justice! Fandom on Tumblr!) and can occasionally jump from fandom to fandom.
Why give it a listen: Learn new things about fandoms you’re in as well as fandoms you may never have heard of before, intriguing discussions that go into perspectives you may never have considered, etc. This podcast satisfies my inner Ravenclaw. Also, it’s one of the few general nerdy/geeky podcasts that I know of with a feminist perspective.
Favorite episodes: Fangirling through Time, an episode that talks about the history of fandom in general with a focus on gender roles, or The Dark Fantastic, an episode that explores race in fandom and pop culture.

3. Always: The Potter Fandom Podcast. Okay, yes, I’m biased in recommending this one. After all, I’m in it! It’s easy to listen to the entirety of this podcast in a short period of time though; not only is it entertaining, but we haven’t had the time to record it in awhile so there aren’t many episodes.
What is it about: This is a podcast is about the Harry Potter fandom, specifically Harry Potter events and fan groups.
Why give it a listen: Hilarious tales of Harry Potter event planning, opportunity to hear about Harry Potter themed events around the world. If you have ever thought of running or helping with your local Harry Potter fan group, I recommend giving this a try.
Favorite Episodes: Conventions, a discussion of Harry Potter conventions, or Harry Potter Food and Fandom, which talks about the various ways the fan groups have used HP themed food for their meetups.

Honorable Mention: Alohomora from Mugglenet. Many people have recommended this podcast to me, but there are so many episodes already that I’m a little intimidated to jump in. It’s quite a commitment. I’ve heard such wonderful things though that I felt it needed a place in this post. Alohomora breaks down the Harry Potter books into small bits, discussing just a few chapters at a time. It’s the perfect accompaniment to your Harry Potter series re-read. Give it a listen and let me know your thoughts!

 

What are some of your favorite podcasts?

Leave a Reply

